About this Tour
The Monastery of Santo Domingo or in Spanish Iglesia de Santo Domingo, is one of Lima’s most important religious sites. Come and visit it to see it all by yourself.
Visit: Monastery of Santo Domingo (Iglesia y Monasterio de Santo Domingo)
The Convent of the Holy Rosary, better known as the Convent of Santo Domingo de Lima, was founded in 1535. Its construction began in the mid-sixteenth century.
The Convent has different environments where guided tours can be offered. The reception room with a beautiful coffered ceiling from the end of the 16th century.
The First Cloister is decorated with Sevillian tiles and a series of seventeenth-century canvases about the life of Santo Domingo de Guzmán, founder of The Order of Preachers (Dominican Order)
The Library of the Convent has around 25 thousand books, among them several bibliographical collections of great value.
The Chapter House is the place where the University of San Marcos was founded in 1551, the first university in the New World.
Underneath the Chapter Room is The Crypt where the religious of the Order were buried, there is the tomb of Santa Rosa de Lima, Patroness of the Americas.
The Second Cloister shows part of the Arab influence in Peru since the trilobulated arches are observed, from this cloister is accessed the Chapel built in the eighteenth century where San Martín de Porres is buried, this chapel was erected in the place where it was the old infirmary of the Convent, a place from where San Martin attended to the sick.