About St Bridget’s Parish Church
The first wooden incarnation of St Bridget’s was built around 900AD and over the centuries has been added to, redeveloped, altered and even rebuilt into the beautiful building you see today.
A second church, this time made of stone, appeared around 1150 and the third about 200 years later. Other iterations appeared in the 18th and again in the 19th centuries and while the church is impressive itself, many visitors come because of the amazing archaeological finds.
Most of the Norman-era column and wall fragments, an intricately carved child’s coffin and a footbath (suggesting the church was used as a place of pilgrimage), elaborate 13th century grave slabs and various other artefacts from the church spanning a thousand years are in the West Kirby Museum but the star of the show at St Bridget’s is the Hogback Stone.
Dating from the Anglo-Norse 10th century, the Hogback Stone is a carved – like a hog’s back – piece of (possibly Welsh) sandstone used for monumental purposes. This particular stone includes carved roof shingles and are typical designs associated with Scandinavian dwellings during the age of the Vikings, essentially stylised ‘houses of the dead’.
Visitors will also see Charles Kempe’s stunning 19th century stained glass windows, beautiful ironworks, an intricate Norman-designed font and the tower replete with 200 year-old bells.