About Knockmoy Abbey
Abbeyknockmoy Abbey in County Galway was founded in 1189 by Cathal Crovdearg O’Connor, King of Connacht and is one of the best preserved examples of 12th century church architecture in Ireland.
Plundered in 1200 and again in 1228, twelve years later the Abbot was censured for having his hair washed by a woman! In 1483 the Abbot was accused of setting the monastery on fire but in the late 1530s, its fate was decided by Henry VIII’s Dissolution of the Monasteries.
It seems a form of secularised monasticism was practised at Abbeyknockmoy for a hundred years or so until ownership was passed to the Blake family in 1652.
Today, visitors can see some outstanding examples of medieval wall paintings and sculptures, an impressive capital, ornate stonework in the chancel as well as one of the last surviving medieval frescoes in Ireland.
There are also a number of tombs, including ‘one of the very few late medieval stone inscriptions written in the Irish language.’