About Framlingham Castle
Framlingham Castle in Suffolk was built in the late 12th century by the Earl of Norfolk, Roger Bigod, who was an important member of the court of the Plantagenet kings. With its imposing mural towers and stone walls, Framlingham Castle served as a fortress and a status symbol.
Over the centuries, Framlingham Castle has enjoyed a diverse history, being the centre of power struggles and the home of prominent figures and even royals. In the sixteenth century, Mary Tudor used Framligham Castle as a refuge before she was crowned and, later in same century, it became a prison before a poorhouse was built there which remained until 1839.
Today, the doors of Framlingham Castle are open to the public and, under the remit of English Heritage, visitors can discover its history and those of its former residents. Audio tours are available as are children’s exhibits.